wtorek, 8 lutego 2011

Flame On

Band members:
Charlie Andersen / 2004 - present
Jeppe Munk Åkesson / 2003 - present
Tobias Munk Åkesson / 1996 - present
Henrik Ohlsen / 1996 - present

Emil Kozak / 2002 - 2004
Jan Sørensen / 1996 - 2000
John Kenn Mortensen / 1996 - 2002
Kristian Kimer / 2000 - 2002

Web site:
Flame On web site

Start listening:
Flame On purevolume profile

Flame On is a 4 piece rock band based in Copenhagen, Denmark. They formed after two founding members found themselves at the same '95 - '96 newyears eve party, and started talking music. Early 1996 they were now four, and all attending the same highschool in Nykøbing Falster. They got a great rehersal room directly adjacent to the school where they spend the next couple of years practicing, experimenting with hairstyles and growing up in general.

As the members of Flame On (called DGZ at the time) graduated school, nothing seemed to keep them on their native islands (no it's not ONE island!) of Lolland-Falster and they all moved to the nations capitol, Copenhagen. The first year in Copenhagen was spend with alot more practicing, and a little more gigging. A demo with 4 tracks was recorded. Some time hereafter, around 2000, guitarist Jan Sørensen left the band. He was replaced by long time friend Kristian Kimer, also originally from Falster. Suddenly Flame On had two songwriters (Tobias beeing the other major contributor) and alot of new material was produced. The best of this eventually ended up on the CD-ep "Home is where the heart is" (The title refferring to their common island origin).

With the Line-up of Henrik, John, Tobias & Kristian the band played more shows in a year than they had done in the previous 4 together. By the summer of 2002 John left the band to focus on his career as an animator. Emil Kozak, a young guy from Lolland and former lead singer and guitarist in "One Minute Shift", took over on bass. Flame On felt ready to take on the challenge of a full-length. Therefore around mid 2002 they decided to record an album instead of making another demo. The plan was to do everything themselves and to do it practically cost-free. Progress was slow and in the middle of recording drums, Kristian decided to leave Flame On.

A change was needed. Henrik stepped up from behind the drums to focus on his vocals and to finally front the band visually as he had been vocally for years. A new drummer was needed and an idea often discussed finally became a reality. Tobias' (younger) brother Jeppe joined, whilst still being the drummer for Meantime (now IOTA). Emil switched to guitar and Charlie took over on bass. The band finished the album 'Overkill' and after a mini Germany tour and DK tour Emil left the band in late 2004.

01. Wall to Wall
02. Jealousy
03. Endsville horror
04. Sunday

-Home is where the heart is

01. Face
02. Hatched
03. Phantoms
04. Sleep It Off
05. Missing Out
06. Change
07. Happy Days
08. Bonus Track(s)

- Overkill

01. Poor Strangers
02. Summer Of Love
03. Dialogue
04. King Of Empty Space
05. New Tunes
06. Fortress
07. Tomorrow
08. Suburban Warfare
09. In The Belly Of The Whale
10. May Be With Me

- Against All Odds" - Punkstar Records compilation

01. One Shot Left - Hate Has No Face
02. Flame On - Face
03. Gob Squad - Brand Old Shoes
04. Querverkehr - Ol' Gossips Pride
05. Darryls Grocery Bag - Light Years Aren't So Long
06. Not Again - What's Going On
07. Nunstalker - As Cold As Beer
08. The Astroboys - Show Them All
09. One Size Fits All - Vision Utopia
10. Toybomb - Last Big Mistake
11. NoWayOut - Sixteenopause
12. Gino's Eyeball - Marc
13. Unemploid - Friday Bruises
14. Tomorrow In Stereo - Couldn't Be Any Better
15. The Hangdorks - Dirty Stinking Bum
16. Autpilot Off - Spring Training
17. No Strings Attached - Alcoholic John
18. Add Renaline - Daily Routine
19. Burn Out - You Went Away
20. Foursome - Intoxicated
21. Hold It On - Morning Created By Kids

- 9 Way Split - Troskot Records compilation

Flame On provided 3 demo songs from our coming record to this 9 way split for Troskot Records in Bulgaria. Troskot is run by Svetoslav Donchev who sells records to raise money for invalids in his home town of Stara Zagora who can't get proper treatment in Bulgaria

01. Masked Animals - 3 songs - Switzerland
02. Wiggerside - 3 songs - Switzerland
03. Snotty Cheekbones - 3 songs - Switzerland
04. Flame On - 3 songs - Denmark
05. Car Hits Fire - 3 songs - Belgium
06. Topless Helicopter Lesson - 3 songs - Belgium
07. Gino's Eyeball - 3 songs - Belgium
08. No Strings Attached-3 songs - Belgium
09. Plus Nomination - 3 songs - Switzerland

-ZAAAZZ - TROSKOT records compilation

A compilation by TROSKOT records of Bulgaria.
Flame On contributed with the '99 Anthem "Wall to Wall".

Flame On web site

Brak komentarzy: